top of page

Five Unwritten Rules for Foreigners in The States

After living in the US for what has mysteriously accumulated in to 10 days I feel suitably uniformed to start making commentary on American culture…

I have spent my time getting acquainted with the town of New Brunswick and on the weekend had a wonderful trip to Philadelphia (‘OrlaroundPhilly’ post to follow).

So here are a few observations on how we ‘internationals’ acclimatize amidst all the Americana of College life:

1. The traffic light system will baffle you

My fellow international friends and I have been as close to hit in a week as we would like in a lifetime, both when the lights are green and when they are red. We’re assuming the rule is “cross at your own peril.”

2. The supermarket is a minefield of temptation

If you are a bit of a foodie (like me), you will either leave exhilarated by the prospect of your week-long sugar rush or feeling righteous for resisting the allure of pop tarts and Aunt Jemima’s pancakes.

3. The water tastes like peat, to put it politely

Invest in a water filter if your international taste buds are on the delicate side for the water here is as brash as its people!

4. Despite the aformentioned high-risk factors of being a foreigner Americans are incredibly helpful;

I asked a girl on the bus to point me in the right direction for my first class and she walked me all the way there! What’s more? They’ll leave you with a splendid “have a great day!”… not just a “nice” day, they want you to have a “GREAT” day!

5. Americans are more culturally diverse than they are given credit for (at least on the East coast!)

Americans are notoriously stereotyped for their lack of global awareness but after spending 10 days living here and spending a lot of time with American students I can vouch that their unfortunate geography- placing them at least a 6 hour plane journey from the cultural hub that is Europe- is probably responsible for this undeserved reputation.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page