top of page

Stateside

The 5 Essentials for a Brit Going Stateside;

In less than ten days time, to JFK I am bound, But before I head across the pond, before I leave the ground I will ponder long and hard over what not to go without... So to whittle it down and prioritize, topping my list, without a doubt;

My first essential item is, of course, my mac, For from the moment I went apple, there was no turning back! On this silver and elegant fine specimen of a machine I can happily procrastinate behind the safety of my screen.

With consideration to how much I can fit into one sad little case

This next essential item shouldn’t take up too much space; Pictures of my friends and family to decorate my room To make me feel a little more at home in fleeting moments of gloom!

My next priority is, of course, pertaining to food.

An important consideration, for... without being rude, The American appetite favors a somewhat super-sized cuisine So I’ll bring my favourite cookbook for when I yearn for something green!

My penultimate essential is really quite important too,

An arsenal of tea bags for when a coffee just won’t do;

Imbibing a mug of English tea will prove positively grand

On the days when I hanker for the brew of my homeland!

The final necessity on my abridged essential list Is a little more intangible but is not to be dismissed. To fully immerse oneself in the culture of the great US of A- Aside from caffeine- positivity is vital to keep that old ‘English reserve’ at bay!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page